DUI/DWI Attorneys in Cumming
Experience & Professionalism Combine for Solid Defense Strategies in Forsyth County
An arrest for driving under the influence puts you in jeopardy of losing thousands of dollars in fines and fees, having your driver’s license suspended, and even spending time in jail. A conviction would continue to impact your life for years afterward, as your insurance premiums would skyrocket, and you would be subject to a “look-back” period that would enhance the penalty for a subsequent DUI. The situation cries out for highly professional and dedicated legal representation. From the moment you contact our office, we are fully engaged in your case. We understand that an arrest can be a harrowing experience, so we provide legal and emotional support throughout the process as we work diligently to achieve the best result possible.
Penalties for DUI Convictions in Georgia
Your driving record and the specific facts of your case will determine the penalties you face when you’re charged with DUI.
Possible penalties include:
- First offense: Incarceration in county jail for 24 hours to one year; $300 to $1,000 in fines and fees; and a license suspension of up to one year
- Second offense: Incarceration in county jail for three days to one year; $600 to $1,000 in fines and fees; a license suspension of up to three years; and possibly a court order to install an ignition interlock device
- Third offense: Incarceration in county jail for 15 days to one year; $1,000 to $5,000 in fines and fees; a license suspension of up to five years; and a court order to install an ignition interlock device
- Fourth offense: Incarceration in state prison for one to five years; $1,000 to $5,000 in fines and fees; an indefinite license suspension; and a court order to install an ignition interlock device
In Georgia, as in other states, a standard DUI is charged when a driver’s blood alcohol content (BAC) measures 0.08% or above. However, drivers under the age of 21 are subject to a zero-tolerance standard and can be charged for a BAC reading of 0.02%. Commercial drivers can be charged at 0.04% or higher. Georgia does not have specifically mandated enhancements for BAC above 0.15%, but drivers with a high BAC can expect prosecutors to pursue the maximum penalty available under the law. The wide range of penalties is one of the major reasons you want a reputable attorney on your side.
Lipscomb Johnson LLP is made up of seasoned trial lawyers who have successfully fought criminal charges for clients in state and federal court. If you have been arrested for DUI, we provide effective advocacy geared toward achieving the best possible result.
Committed to Positive ResultsHaving built our reputation one satisfied client at a time, we fully understand that excellence arises from a consistent application of our best efforts in service of our clients’ needs.
Personally EngagedOur attorneys understand how a legal controversy can weigh upon you, so we are accessible in person, over the phone, or via email whenever you need us throughout the legal process.
Strong Connections Through the Judicial and Legal CommunityOur relationships with local government leaders and other attorneys provide us with unique perspectives and insights.
200 Years of Combined ExperienceWe draw on decades of practice across multiple legal areas to present comprehensive solutions to the full range of your issues.